GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Dealer damaged car

gixxerfool

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2016 Golf R
I am a new member here and a new VW owner.

Let me start by saying I have 20 years experience as a dealer tech. Early on made plenty of mistakes, but learned how to avoid them quickly in order to return the car to customer essentially better than they brought it in. I started working on cars because I was never satisfied with anyone else's work. It was usually rushed, half-assed or both. So I started doing it myself at a hobby/enthusiast level. I ended up with a job in a dealer and am still there.

I started searching for a Golf R over a year ago in my price range. Most of them were high mileage or beat up. So I waited for one to come around. Covid somehow shot car sales into the stratosphere pushing the R even further out of reach for me. All the while I was building equity in my car at the time and watching many a websites. Came across a super clean 2016 with DCC in Lapiz blue with only 22,000 on the clock. It was in my price range so I nabbed it.

Fast forward a few weeks and a rock hit my windshield cracking it. Since insurance was willing to pay for a VW glass, I went that route. I am not overly impressed with Safelite's install either, considering I have had four of their replacements leak. I ordered the glass and waited for it to arrive. The night before I was to take it to the dealer, I noticed a coolant leak from the thermostat/water pump area. I was bummed that I would have to pay for this even though I just got it, no big deal. Then after a good amount of Googling I come to find out my car may still have a warranty on it. Score. kind of.