GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Will I hate a manual?

CarlosCanizares

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
Mk7 Golf R
I appreciate this, and dont get me wrong, I loved the DSG in my 15 GTI, but, I feel like I would have much more fun with the manual. I had fun with the DSG, but it never felt truly direct.

I'm using Tapatalk.

You seem like of a similar mindset to me. I’d rather drive a slower car that’s more fun. That said, the Mk7 manual is far from great, as GTI KC said. But I’d rather have it than pulling paddles at this stage of my life.

I’m not a musician but I’ll venture to guess manually playing drums is a ton more fun than pressing buttons on a drum machine. I’m fortunate I don’t drive my R everyday and in traffic, so when I do drive it, it’s always special for me. If circumstances were different, I’d go for the DSG. It IS amazing, just not as fun.

That said, nothing will ever truly feel direct until what you do truly affects something directly. Computers not included.

GTI Jake

Autocross Champion
Historically manual Volkswagen hold their value better over the long haul, but DSG has come a long way and I don’t think that’s really a factor on mk7.

Bottom line is all cars depreciate so drive both and pick your favorite.

I’ve racked up 81,500 miles on my manual gti and love it. I’ve driven DSG gti and R and to me it’s like a jet ski...fun for 20 minutes then you’re over it (personal option).

The older I get the less I care about launching my car or 1/4 mile times. Track day or mountain roads is much more fun and you can add a RSB and tires to a bone stock car (6MT or DSG) and have a blast doing that in otherwise stock form no problem

Luiscalpa

Passed Driver's Ed
I bought southbend stage 2 daily and installed is $2250, as I said Im currently Unitronic stage 2 and wont go any further than that, maybe an I/C in the future. For me the power is just fine as is. Mine is a 2017 R.

vj123

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
19 & 16 GTI - sold