GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Do you wave/say hello to other Golf owners on the road?

casualsurfer

Ready to race!
I'm new to the VW world but every car I've bought in the past 15 years or so I've joined an online community and generally waved/acknowledged other drivers of the same car if I see them on the road. The S2000 was unique that 99% of the time I get a wave back (it's easier to wave with a vert, I guess). The Volt folks were generally nice as well. Porsche Cayman folks mostly waved, but some just didn't look around at all and focused on driving (?). In my BMW 335 the younger guys flashed & waved, older guys don't really look. In the couple of months of ownership I've not really gotten any waves back from fellow MK7 folks, one in a MK6 the other day waved and flashed her lights.

So are MK7 drivers just not the waving type?

josh.dsg

Ready to race!
I definitely get waves!

Maybe its a PNW thing. We are all a little too friendly.

euroadb

Go Kart Champion
I think it has a lot to do with the demographic of each car's owners. You're way more likely to have a car enthusiast driving an S2000 than a Golf or GTI, who for all you know could be a regular Joe that just wanted a nice hatchback. If you have a visibly modified VW you're much more likely to get waves from other modified VW's. The exception to this rule might be the Golf R, of which the majority of owners probably are enthusiasts.

alper

Ready to race!
The exception to this rule might be the Golf R, of which the majority of owners probably are enthusiasts.

It primarily has to do with the area. Near where I live R owners are mainly 50+ y.o. people that chose the car because they wanted to "blend in" according to what a few of them have told me and majority of them has kept it stock, while GTI owners are more probable to be enthusiasts.