GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Ripley, My Rad Wagon (1.8t SE)

cool_username

Passed Driver's Ed
Hi All,
Figured it was finally time to put together my car journal/build thread. My name is William (or Will if we're on that level), and this is Ripley. Here's some background:
I'm a working photographer and moved to the south in October. Two weeks after I moved, someone smashed into my beloved 08 Impreza Hatchback, totaling it. I was in a rental for a while (which didn't really fit all my photo equipment), so I knew I wanted another hatch. After some research and figuring out what I wanted in a car, I decided on a Golf. I needed peppiness, a good stereo, heated seats, and a moonroof (well, I didn't need it, but...). Long story short, I went VW! I got a pretty good deal on this SE. I kind of wish I had a GTI, but I've really been loving my 1.8 so far. My goal is to have a blast with this for now, save some money, and maybe buy a GTI or R in 4 or 5 years. In the meantime, let's have some fun!
Here are some photos I've taken:

What's been done so far:
  • Yellow Fogs
  • Black Badges and debadged hatch
  • Clark Plaid Mirror Overlay/Steering Wheel Badge Inlay
  • License Plate LEDS (DeAutokey is bomb.com)
  • My RADWAG0N Vanity Plate, just because
  • Most of the typical coding tweaks (windows down, mirror dip, Kencha Tails, etc)
  • Snow catch taken out of air box
  • DeAuto Tail/Reverse LEDs
  • DeAuto Interior LEDs
  • Afe filter
I'll try to keep updating this first post with the most recent pictures of my car along with an updated list of mods and stuff. I'm a climber and a photographer, and neither thing is cheap so this is going to take a while. But coming soon, we'll have:
  • Springs (I'm thinking VWR)
  • Turbo Muffler Delete
  • Jb1
  • CTS Turbo inlet pipe
  • CTS Downpipe (catted)
  • Catback (probably AWE track)
  • Headlights (Ed's Reps probably)
Let's see what I've got money for :D