GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Can anybodt shift this @#*! thing smoothly?

9uns

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
gti
I'm new to driving stick and I have the same issue going from 1st to 2nd but I attribute that 100% to my lack of experience. Is it worth doing the recommended clutch mods (spring removal, clutch stop, etc.) for a new driver?

nicholam77

Go Kart Champion
I'm new to driving stick and I have the same issue going from 1st to 2nd but I attribute that 100% to my lack of experience. Is it worth doing the recommended clutch mods (spring removal, clutch stop, etc.) for a new driver?

I would say yes, absolutely. Clutch stop is personal preference and doesn’t change anything but pedal travel. I don’t care for it personally but it might help some locate the engagement point more consistently. IMO the other mods are more important. The delay valve removal and the pedal spring removal will help you feel what your doing more. Essential to knowing if your doing it right. Dogbone replacement or insert will help with the engine bucking a bit. So would motor / trans mounts but it’s really not necessary to take it that far if you just wanna shift smooth.

But the number one key to smooth shifts is to learn to match your revs! It will be different in each gear and depending on what rpm you choose to shift at. It’s all based on the gear ratios and engine speed. If you don’t develop a personal pattern and learn where your revs should fall to on each shift you will forever be guessing. The tach is there for a reason.

nicholam77

Go Kart Champion
Definitely have this same exact problem. I feel like you have to literally slip the clutch going 1st to 2nd to make it smooth. 2nd to 3rd, for me at least, depends on whether the car is warmed up or not. It is very annoying when trying to blast through the gears. Only thing that has helped a bit is shifting 1st to 2nd at a higher rpm and doing so slower than expected.