GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

MKVII GTI -Metallic Rattle. Please help.

okcookie

Ready to race!
Ever since day one with my new MKVII GTI, there has been a consistent metallic (tinny - like the sound of someone shaking a soda can with the tab inside) coming from what seems like the passenger side footwells. This rattle can only be heard at low RPM. I can hear it most around 2,000 RPM, and I can force it to happen by applying light pressure to the gas peddle. I don't know if the rattle doesn't happen at higher RPM, or if I just can't hear it over the engine and the typical road noise. The rattle is pretty consistent in tempo.

I've done some research, but can't determine if it's the waste gate actuator, fuel lines, or something else. I'm new to maintaining cars properly and I'm not the most mechanically savvy person, but I want to learn. So, I haven't tried to locate the actuator because I don't know where to start and I haven't tried to "tie down" the fuel lines because I'm not comfortable doing this fix on my own.

I've taken the car to the dealership once, and I was told that the waste gate actuator doesn't even exist on the MKVII. Interestingly, two different techs told me this. They deny that the actuator is even real, much less causing any problems.

I suppose it could also be the armrest, as some people say it tends to sound like it's coming from the passenger side.

Anyway, I'm looking for help in diagnosing this rattle. I am bringing the car back to the dealership again next week for the same issue, but I don't have high hopes. It's driving me crazy, and I would appreciate step-by-step advice on how to tackle it on my own.

I can post video if needed. Please help! Advice needed.

DAS_STIG

Banned
It may be the fuel line rattle. Mine had it and it happened right around 2000-3000 rpm, came from passenger side footwell, And it did sound metallic. Tell the dealer to look at the fuel line if they haven't already, they should know about the Issue.

RDPOE