GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Noise on starting

ChrisK

Ready to race!
I get like a whining noise for a couple of seconds when cold and yes when I first heard it I was concerned but it’s become normal to me and I take no notice of it now.

Would love to know what it is though.

sgessler2011

Ready to race!
It is likely the air pump. On my MK6 the first cold start is louder as the air pump cycles on and off loudly. Its much louder with an aftermarket intake that is less insulated than the OEM airbox.

Markc

Passed Driver's Ed
I get like a whining noise for a couple of seconds when cold and yes when I first heard it I was concerned but it’s become normal to me and I take no notice of it now.

Good evening

This is the first time I've logged on to the forum in ages and the first post is starter motor noise problems ! as far as I'm aware the starter is still engaged when the engine starts so thats why you hear the grinding noise (I'm no mechanic by the way lol)

I had the same problem with mine 18 months ago from new ,reported the fault to the AD who said they had sorted it but no still there,i got used to it in the end

They dropped my car off this afternoon after its first oil service, i mentioned the starter motor problem when i booked it in, the receptionist told me over the phone it has been fixed

it only happens on a cold start so i will try it in the morning and report back :)

Ronin3

Ready to race!
My exhaust pops when I start my car. I'd love to know what is causing it to do that. There are no codes stored according to the hand held scanner I borrowed.

TheSwede

Ready to race!
Car(s)
Golf7 Alltrack/Cupra

Felix2

I get exactly the same. Doesn't concern me though. It was worse in my mk 6 golf

Alunakis