GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

DSG: have VW got it right at last??

GTI-7-Performance

Ready to race!
I have 4 years' and 70,000kms experience of a 7-speed DSG gearbox on a Polo 1.4 16V and wonder how the DSG has been improved in 4 years. My dealer is convinced all problems are a thing of the past.

In principle it's fantastic and there is no way I could shift manually in a straight line from a standstill.

The main problem is DSG "jump": when the gearbox is thrown into confusion. Typical example slowing down for a roundabout. DSG remains in D4 or D5, but the way is clear and given gas there is a split second's thought and suddenly the DGS is in D2 and with the foot on the accelerator, there is a serious jolt and the car lurches forwards.

Also I had the metratronics replaced under warranty (just) after 13 months, when the box selected neutral while driving downhill although it showed it was still in D. This is apparently a "known fault" but a £1000 item plus labour to replace. The ignition needed switching of and the engine restarting to clear the problem.: far from ideal.

Thus with a Golf GTI with 6-speed DSG on order, I opted for the VW 5 year/100,000km extended warranty and live in hope that my dealer is right...

DW58

Go Kart Champion
My Mother had a 2006 Mk.5 Golf 1.6FSi DSG for six years until september last year without even as much as a squeak. I drove this car a lot and it performed like a Swiss watch ;)

She now has an Audi A1 Sport 1.4TFSi with S-Tronic and it's equally good.

I hope to take delivery of my 7-speed DSG-equipped Mk.7 in around six weeks, it'll be my first DSG and I have every confidence in the system.

I've never experienced the "DSG-Jump" as you call it. Could it have been a Polo-specific problem?

Vancity2Constantinople

2.Sloooo n loww
Car(s)
2010 Golf 2.5L Sport