GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
FORUM OPTIONS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GOLFMK7 - VW GTI MKVII Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVII Forum > Technical Topics > Cosmetic Mods (interior & exterior modifications)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2017, 04:10 PM   #1
kmhman87
Member
 
Drives: mk7 golf tsi
Location: Indiana
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 39
Discover pro 8 inch retrofit

I was able to retrofit the Mib2 6.5 screen to a discover pro 8 inch screen at a very good price.

I purchased the module from the link below.
I believe the pricing ($429 shipped) is pretty good considering the screen was practically new. The shipping was also very fast to the states (less than 4 days).
I can confirm that the version shown below works in a 2016 golf 1.8 TSI.

SW0031
H62

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-OEM-VW-D...53.m2749.l2649

Caveat: When the NAV button is pressed you get an error displayed on the screen similar to the warning you get to remind you to take your phone when you turn off the ignition. You can simply resume by pressing the OK button on screen. The traffic button does nothing. You will loose the mute function and the sound settings have to accessed through the menu. I was not able to find a non-nav module as a reasonable price.



Panels:

Golf R: 5G1819728AFQYI (Confirmed)

GTI: 5G1819728AFDAR (Not confirmed) check pictures from https://www.bks-tuning.com/5g1819728afdar.html

Golf 1.8 TSI: 5G1819728AFDMD (Will confirm once it arrives)

You can purchase the panels from E-acca.com, cars245, BKS tuning.

I got mine 5G1819728AFDMD from BKS tuning and they shipped in 1 business day using UPS worldwide Express. I will can take some pictures once it arrives if requested.


Other panels (probably for e-golf, alltrack :
5G1819728AFBBF
https://www.bks-tuning.com/5g1819728afbbf.html


5G1819728AFBNS
https://www.bks-tuning.com/5g1819728afbns.html

5G1819728AFCYB
https://www.bks-tuning.com/5g1819728afcyb.html

Just wanted to share this information as it was very difficult to find info on the Panels that fit the discover pro 8.
kmhman87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 08:59 PM   #2
xmonkey
Junior Member
 
Drives: 2017 GTI SE DSG
Location: Socal
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 23
Thanks for the links, very helpful
xmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 06:15 PM   #3
kmhman87
Member
 
Drives: mk7 golf tsi
Location: Indiana
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 39
Golf 1.8 TSI: 5G1819728AFDMD is confirmed to work.
https://www.bks-tuning.com/5g1819728afdmd.html

Photos:

https://photos.google.com/share/AF1Q...RGZmxGdkhmUkVn

In total spent:

Screen $429 (Shipped)

Panel $142 (Shipped)

Much less than $799.

Radio tool:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Panel remover:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Instructions:

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...Install-How-To

Please note that the screen swap only works for MIB 2
kmhman87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 06:38 PM   #4
cruzmisl
Member
 
Drives: 17 GTI Autobahn
Location: PNW
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 44
You only get the error if you don't have NAV. If you have NAV and the 6.5 screen, and upgrade to 8" you don't get any errors. Traffic works too. You just don't get the Shortcut to the XM info. You need to press the Menu button and then select it in the UI.
cruzmisl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 03:52 AM   #5
KingKhan
Member
 
Drives: GTI
Location: Cambridge, ON
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 35
Has anyone purchased from this seller on ebay, price looks good

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/VW-5G0919606...%257Ciid%253A1
KingKhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 04:08 AM   #6
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
That is a good price
nype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 08:13 AM   #7
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
Discover pro 8 inch retrofit

E-Acca.com has 2 units listed.

5G0919606 (Anzeige und Bedieneinheit) and 5G0919606B (Bedieneinh). Any idea what the difference is?

Tired...will try Google translate tomorrow...
nype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 01:40 PM   #8
KingKhan
Member
 
Drives: GTI
Location: Cambridge, ON
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by nype View Post
E-Acca.com has 2 units listed.

5G0919606 (Anzeige und Bedieneinheit) and 5G0919606B (Bedieneinh). Any idea what the difference is?

Tired...will try Google translate tomorrow...
I haven't ran the translate, but I infer it means with Navigation and without it. Could be completely off though

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
KingKhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 05:46 PM   #9
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
Discover pro 8 inch retrofit

“Display and operating unit”. The second entry looks like a typo or was truncated for some reason.



Now you have me wondering. Is there a unit w nav, and a unit without nav?
nype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 06:07 PM   #10
rotaryguy
Member
 
Drives: 2017 Golf R
Location: FL
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 41
I have done a lot of research on the retrofit. The screen is nothing more than a display and many have done the swap so long as you are already at MIB2.
The control unit in the glovebox is a different story, that's the hard one to swap but if successful you get the ability to have video play on the display. That's why they have the video in motion hack with obdeleven.
rotaryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 06:21 PM   #11
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
Thanks for this info. Good to know that the screen is just the screen...
nype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 06:28 PM   #12
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
And can someone please confirm the part number for the GTI (fake carbon fibre looking) bezel/panel?

I noted this from above but just wanted to confirm.

5G1819728AFDAR
nype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 06:45 PM   #13
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
This does look like the correct one.

https://www.bks-tuning.com/5g1819728afdar.html
nype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 02:26 AM   #14
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
So after some research and feedback from e-acca, the B part has 1 associated “ECE code” which is ER3 and this correlates to “regional code NAR” for radio. I don’t know what this refers to though.

In the listed eBay link above, the label on the back of the part shows “e24” in the top right corner. For the non-B parts, these are the ROW parts. And in this case e24 refers to an ECE country code (regional code for radio) for Ireland.

That said, I don’t know what this “regional code for radio” means. Or if it even matters given that this is just a display (not the head unit).

This is what I got from e-acca.



Any of you guys know what ECE code your parts are? Do you think it matters?
nype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 08:05 PM   #15
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
I think it may be simply that the NAR unit top left button says “BAND” whereas the ROW units say “RADIO” or something similar depending on the language of the country code.
nype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 11:15 PM   #16
kubo777
Junior Member
 
Drives: MK7 GTI
Location: Toronto, Canada
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
There are slight differences in tuning frequencies in Europe and NA. Quick search shows that North American FM broadcast channels are on the odd 200KHz frequencies: 99.5MHz, 100.1MHz, etc. In Europe, channels can be on any multiple of 100KHz, even or odd. AM broadcasts Same for AM, the difference is 10 kHz steps in the US vs. 9 kHz steps in Europe.
Read more at: http://www.epanorama.net/documents/r...fferences.html

Maybe it has something to do with that.
kubo777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 01:45 AM   #17
nype
Senior Member
 
nype's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 GTI Performance - DSG - Carbon Grey w/Leather
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,864
That’s more likely than just the label on the button.

Thanks for the info!
nype is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.