GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Waterpump/Thermostat DIY - Who has done it?

ITGUY

Autocross Newbie
I went with INA, around 15K KM ago. No issues thus far. Make sure you have an extension for your extensions extension. Getting the Throttle body bolts off was a pain for me, I had to go from the bottom hence the multiple extensions. Took me around 6 hours to complete, but I'm not a mechanic. Make sure that you have a 17MM stubby for the fuel line.
I would've just left the TB on and loosened the intake hose clamp... why did you remove the TB from the intake?

Hyperlite

Go Kart Newbie
I got mine from FCP Euro, but in hindsight noticed they've got a hell of a markup on these waterpumps (I understand they've got the warranty but even so, the delta is a lot on this particular item). Much cheaper at Rock Auto: https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo.php?pk=11191109&jsn=3
Is that INA XW0360 part both the water pump and thermostat? The FCP Euro kit lists it as waterpump/thermostat, but rockauto has it as just a waterpump?

Hyperlite

Go Kart Newbie
Just got the first quote back from an indy shop I’ve used in the past…$1400+tax. Waiting to hear back from the dealership as well, but can’t imagine it will be any cheaper. Looks like I’ll be tackling this myself to save a grand or more!

YamR1rider

Drag Racing Champion
Car(s)
2017 GTI Sport DSG
Ok thanks. So that unit replaces both the waterpump and thermostat, correct? (Sorry for the noob questions, just want to be sure)
Correct yep, its the whole module. Comes with the gasket to the block already fitted. Also comes with a drive belt, although most people reuse existing as it's a fiddly affair getting to the reverse thread bolt on the pulley to get the old one off (and it seems those belts last well).

Only other piece I'd recommend you get would be a new union for the waterpump/oil cooler join.

Daks

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
GTI PP