GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Question..New Engine.

Mels15GTI

Ready to race!
My car lived through an 7550 over rev, I did a 4th -2nd on the highway. I've been driving manuals for 22 years and have never money shifted a car before this one.

Vdub13

Ready to race!
You might have just jumped the timing chain and/or bent some valves. I would check that out first. Ater that, if the timing is good, pull the valve cover, and if you see damage pull the head. Then pull the oil pan. If the cylinders/pistons are good and the crank/cam bearings aren't spun I think it's worth rebuilding. For $2,000 I would fix it instead of buying used.

Yea that's what Ima do. As long as the engine block isn't cracked or broken I wouldn't think a new engine is needed. I'm PRAYING that it's something I can rebuild and not replace.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Vdub13

Ready to race!
My car lived through an 7550 over rev, I did a 4th -2nd on the highway. I've been driving manuals for 22 years and have never money shifted a car before this one.

Exactly what I was saying. I've never money shifted until this car. Apparently I was close 9k RPM's though. So yea, the rest speaks for itself [emoji19]

PLF8593

Drag Race Newbie
Car(s)
19 Alltrack 6MT
Exactly what I was saying. I've never money shifted until this car. Apparently I was close 9k RPM's though. So yea, the rest speaks for itself [emoji19]

Were you going like 80? Because, IIRC, 6K RPM in 2nd = ~60-65 mph... 9K had to be like 75-80. That sucks man :\

Vdub13

Ready to race!
Were you going like 80? Because, IIRC, 6K RPM in 2nd = ~60-65 mph... 9K had to be like 75-80. That sucks man :\

Yea. Touching 80-82mph. Redlined, switched the 2nd thinking it was 4th and that's all she wrote. :(

PLF8593

Drag Race Newbie
Car(s)
19 Alltrack 6MT
Yea. Touching 80-82mph. Redlined, switched the 2nd thinking it was 4th and that's all she wrote. :(