GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

How to run in a new gti engine?

K77

Passed Driver's Ed
Hello fellow VW enthusiasts,

Would really appetite your advice on this, asked my dealer and he said he will have a word with the technicians and get back to me but I am a complete novice into buying a new car (and this is my first performance car ever...right now driving a MK5 1.4S with 75bhp [it really is as slow as it sounds]...so you can imagine what the upgraded 2litre turbo 230 bhp[performance pack] will do to my smile when I put my right foot down!) and want to know what is the best way to run in the new engine...I have no idea of what revs to keep to and for how long to run the engine in so will much appreciate the advice!

Thank you.

Sandweiler

Passed Driver's Ed
Hi K77 and congrats on your new ride :)
For you it will be like switching from a skate-board to the Space Shuttle :D
I am sure you will be amazed on how powerful and responsive the GTI is!

Concerning your engine my dealer just told me that I should be careful during the first 1000km and not exceed 4000 RPM's.
It is probably more than enough if you stick to this rule, but most importantely make sure your oil temperature (90 degrees) is OK before you push the car a little.
If I were you I will stick to the 1000km rule and just take it easy for few weeks. It should not take too long before you hit 1000 km :p

K77

Passed Driver's Ed
Hi Sandweiler,

Just want to say thank you very much and that in short yes!...it is like switching from a skate-board to the space shuttle...well put haha!

Thank you very much for your advice and thank you Judesman too. I'm not expecting delivery for a while yet as I don't have a confirmed build week yet but when I do receive my new pride and joy I'm sure it will be impossible to contain my smile!

I have realised there was a previous post on this subject, so sorry for re-posting it, but thank you for the much appreciated advice.

joema2

Ready to race!
Car(s)
2010 Golf GTI 6MT